About KulturPoetik

KulturPoetik is a forum for all fields of Cultural Literary Studies (»cultural poetics«). The name of the journal is programmatic: it is devoted to all cultural aspects of literature and to all literary aspects of culture.

In recent years this cultural approach has been an important new development in literary studies. Cultural Literary Studies, is, first of all, marked by its particular point of view and its interest in specific subjects. It regards literature as a part of culture as a whole, focusing on the role it plays in forming, passing on and modifying cultural meanings and signs. It is therefore particularly interested in the basic concerns of anthropology (such as love, death, states of ecstasy and intoxication, insanity, dreams, the body, memory, social conventions, gender, etc.) and in corresponding cultural techniques, and also in intercultural contacts and conflicts. It analyses interactions between literature and systems of knowledge, between literature and other media (»intermediality« and competition between media), and the specific contribution of literature to cultural communication, the formation of signs, and the shaping of perceptions. It is also concerned with the poetic within culture, i.e. with proto-poetic elements within the knowledge system, the media, social relationships and everyday life.

The methodological outlines of Cultural Literary Studies are still vague; KulturPoetik is open to all schools and approaches, including the non-established ones - the editors hope for lively and controversial debate. However, KulturPoetik attaches great importance to one point: Cultural Literary Studies must remain a field of literary studies and must neither forfeit the specific point of view of literary studies (and its identity as a discipline) nor neglect literature’s specific contribution to culture as a whole or its own cultural momentum. Theoretical contributions are as welcome as research on individual subjects. As Cultural Literary Studies aims at crossing boundaries of all kinds, we are particularly interested in interdisciplinary and comparative work.

KulturPoetik appears twice a year, with approximately 150 pages in each issue. In addition to the essays and reviews, the »Forum« section offers the opportunity to comment on current problems or on articles in previous issues. In the »KulturKlassiker« section we present ›classic‹ texts from the field of cultural theory and Cultural Literary Studies. Each issue also contains a list of new publications in this area.

The journal is intended for: students; academics in cultural studies, in the philological disciplines (in particular German, English, American and Romance Studies, as well as Comparative Literature) and in all disciplines relating to philosophy and the history of knowledge; teachers in the humanities; everyone creatively engaged in the cultural sector in whatever sphere; and all readers interested in culture and literature and in their common history.

For terms of subscription, please check here or contact the publisher (German only). Please also note our special conditions for students.

The Editors

Über KulturPoetik

KulturPoetik ist ein Forum für alle Bereiche kulturgeschichtlicher Literaturwissenschaft. Der Name der Zeitschrift ist Programm: Hier geht es sowohl um das Kulturelle der Literatur wie um das Literarische der Kultur.

Der kulturwissenschaftliche/kulturgeschichtliche Ansatz hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einer wichtigen neuen Richtung der Literaturwissenschaft entwickelt. Kulturgeschichtliche Literaturwissenschaft ist zunächst einmal durch ihren besonderen Blick und durch ihr besonderes thematisches Interesse bestimmt: Sie betrachtet Literatur als Teil der Gesamtkultur, also in ihrer Mitwirkung an Konstitution, Tradierung und Veränderung von kulturellen Sinn- und Zeichenbildungen. Daher interessiert sie sich besonders für anthropologische Grundthemen (wie etwa: Liebe, Tod, Rausch, Wahnsinn, Traum, Körperlichkeit, Gedächtnis, Sozialkonventionen, Geschlechterrollen) und die zugehörigen Kulturtechniken sowie für interkulturelle Kontakte und Konflikte. Sie untersucht Wechselwirkungen zwischen der Literatur und dem Wissenssystem, zwischen Literatur und anderen Medien (Intermedialität und Medienkonkurrenz) und den literatureigenen medialen Beitrag zu kultureller Kommunikation, Zeichenbildung und Wahrnehmungsformung. Sie fragt aber auch nach dem Poetischen in der Kultur, nach proto-poetischen Elementen im Wissenssystem, in den Medien, den sozialen Verkehrsformen, dem Alltagsleben.

Methodisch ist die kulturgeschichtliche Literaturwissenschaft immer noch nur sehr vage konturiert. KulturPoetik ist für alle Richtungen offen, auch für die weniger etablierten ‐ die Herausgeber wünschen sich rege und kontroverse Diskussionen. Großen Wert legt KulturPoetik allerdings darauf, dass auch kulturgeschichtliche Literaturwissenschaft Literaturwissenschaft bleibt, also weder die Eigenart ihres disziplinären Blickes aufgibt noch die Eigenleistung und die Eigendynamik übersieht, die der Literatur innerhalb der Gesamtkultur zukommt. Theoretische Beiträge sind dabei ebenso willkommen wie gegenstandsorientierte Untersuchungen. Da kulturgeschichtliche Literaturwissenschaft auf Grenzüberschreitungen aller Art abzielt, sind wir natürlich an interdisziplinären und komparatistischen Arbeiten besonders interessiert.

KulturPoetik erscheint jährlich in zwei Heften mit insgesamt ca. 300 Seiten bei Vandenhoeck&Ruprecht. Neben Aufsätzen und Rezensionen gibt es in der Abteilung Forum die Möglichkeit, sich zu aktuellen Fragen zu positionieren oder Stellung zu Artikeln vorangegangener Hefte zu nehmen. In der Rubrik KulturKlassiker werden ›klassische‹ Werke zur Theorie von Kultur und Kulturwissenschaft vorgestellt. Außerdem enthält jedes Heft eine Liste kulturwissenschaftlich relevanter Neuerscheinungen.

Die Zeitschrift wendet sich an Studierende, Dozentinnen und Dozenten der Kulturwissenschaft, der philologischen Fächer (besonders der Germanistik, Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Romanistik und Komparatistik) und aller philosophie- und wissenschaftsgeschichtlichen Disziplinen; an Lehrerinnen und Lehrer der geisteswissenschaftlichen Fächer; an Kulturschaffende aller Berufsgruppen; an alle Leserinnen und Leser, die an Kultur und Literatur und an deren gemeinsamer Geschichte interessiert sind. Hier können Sie die Bezugsbedingungen einsehen.

Die Herausgeber